The year long story: sentence two

So, this is harder than we thought it was going to be. A lot harder. There were so many great suggestions we could scarcely choose just one, but one we must. After deliberation, here is our choice:

Annie You can find Annie’s blog at:

http://annieb222.com/

First the headache, and now, here I am, standing in the main street of town, after a two hour train trip, and now, only now, I see I am still wearing my slippers ā€“ even worse, two different slippers.

 

We thank you for all of your suggestions and are looking forward to the next round:) This is just too much fun!

34 thoughts on “The year long story: sentence two

  1. soo intriguing! I would eliminate the first mention of “now”–to make the special emphasis that comes when you iterate and reiterate it–that much more powerful. šŸ™‚

    otherwise–perfect.

    (and what do I know, I just took suggestion to heart. feel free to critique me at any juncture; it can only help!)

  2. As I look around for a place that sells shoes, I realize that in my haste I have forgotten my purse so finding my way home, let alone buying a matching pair of shoes, is out of the question.

      • I’ve been here for 18 years, and this has been the strangest winter I’ve experienced. Many of the old timers say it’s the strangest ever. We have been consistently milder than most parts of the country for the past several months. It’s usually sub-zero at this time of year, with several feet of snow. We only have a few inches and it continues to fluctuate between rain and snow. It was drizzling when I responded to your post, but we now have a few flakes….thank goodness!

      • Wow. I think it’s weird just about anywhere you go. You can have the foot of snow we’re expecting over the weekend, if you’d like. I’ll have it sent by Fed Ex. šŸ˜‰

  3. The left slipper is an old familiar, a Christmas present from my boyfriend, but the right slipper is new to me and so unlike something I would own given my overwhelming aversion to sequins and the colour fuschia.

  4. A sigh of resignation and a glance at my surroundings; there is nothing here I recognize and the realization hits me that I got off the train at the wrong stop.

  5. As I rubbed my head, I felt the dampness of blood crusted over the large bump, still unable to put the pieces of how I’d ended up in Knob Noster, Missouri on this stormy morning, after going to sleep two days before in my small Alaskan town.

  6. Okay so neither of these slippers is mine but from the beginning they’d left me no choice, no options or possible outcomes and now here I stand with nothing but bloody coordinates scribbled on my arm.

  7. Ordinarily, this wouldn’t bother me, but one is a large men’s black mocassin, while the other is a medium women’s blue fuzzy slipper with a hole where my big toe sticks out, yet neither is mine.

    (The fun will be trying to remember the story up until a given day… But of course, it will be so good, how could we not?) šŸ™‚

  8. As I rubbed my head, I felt the dampness of blood crusted over the large bump, still unable to put the pieces of how Iā€™d ended up in Knob Noster, Missouri on this stormy morning, after going to sleep two days before in my small Alaskan town.

  9. Ha, what people must have thought of me dressed in a bright red swing dress and Sunday pearls, hair curled in perfect tendrils around my exuberant face, carrying a Michael Korrs bag just bursting at the seams and on my feet one SpongeBob and one Angry Birds slipper, and yet I hade made it and I felt fantastic for the first time in days!

  10. Reblogged this on Dancing in the rain! and commented:
    I think this is such a fantastic idea. I love the idea of strangers (or friends you haven’t met yet) collaborating on something fun. I am excited to see what direction the story takes in the next year. Head over and join the fun or just check it out.

    xx
    Michelle

Leave a Reply

